Addiction prevention through the promotion of life skills



What is SmartCoach?

The aim of SmartCoach is to promote life skills in young people. Examples for such life skills are the ability to 1) cope with stress, 2) to interact with others and 3) resist the use of addictive substances.

Who is SmartCoach aimed at?

SmartCoach is aimed at young people aged 14 and over who have received permission to participate from their parents or legal guardians. The young people can participate at SmartCoach with their smartphone. SmartCoach makes use of the wide diffusion of electronic media to reach young people in their current life situation. Individualized SMS coaching supports the young people.



How effective is SmartCoach?

An ongoing study is testing the effectiveness of SmartCoach. For this purpose, participating secondary school classes are randomly assigned to one of two groups.

Group 1

After an initial survey, participants receive a feedback and take part in SmartCoach.

 

Group 2

After an initial survey, participants neither receive feedback nor participate in Smartcoach.


All participants take part in the follow-up surveys after 6 and 18 months and receive a reward of 20 Swiss francs. This approach allows to sort out how well SmartCoach strengthens young people's life skills.


What can participants expect?



Initial survey

SmartCoach bases its text messages on the answers from the initial survey. In this way, SmartCoach can address topics that are important for the participants.




SmartCoach

Participants are supported by SMS coaching for six months to become confindet in dealing with stress, other people and with their health.




Attractive prizes and rewards

Active participation in SmartCoach increases the chances of winning attractive prizes, which are raffled among all participants.


Introduction video (German only)



Who is responsible for the implementation?

The Swiss Institute for Public Health and Addiction (ISGF) conducts this study in cooperation with the Addiction Prevention Centers of the canton of Zurich. Secondary school classes can participate at SmartCoach between February 2019 and July 2020.



Why is it important to participate?

Young people increasingly suffer from stress and are overwhelmed by everyday challenges. But, stress and challenges mean something different for each young person and can change from day to day. Effective interventions must take these differences into account and tailor to individual needs. The participating institutions want to find out if SmartCoach is able to fill this interventional gaps.

Suchtprävention durch die Förderung von Lebenskompetenzen



Was ist der SmartCoach?

Das Ziel des SmartCoach ist es, die Lebenskompetenzen von Jugendlichen zu fördern. Dazu gehören z.B. der richtige Umgang mit Stress, die Stärkung der Sozialkompetenz sowie die Fähigkeit, dem Konsum von Suchtmitteln zu widerstehen.

An wen richtet sich der SmartCoach?

Der SmartCoach richtet sich an Jugendliche ab 14 Jahren, die von den Eltern oder Erziehungsberechtigten die Erlaubnis für eine Teilnahme erhalten haben. Die Jugendlichen können mit ihrem Smartphone am SmartCoach teilnehmen. Der SmartCoach nutzt die breite Verwendung elektronischer Medien bei jungen Menschen, um sie in ihrer aktuellen Lebenssituation zu erreichen. Ein individualisiertes SMS Coaching unterstützt die Jugendlichen.



Wie wirksam ist der SmartCoach?

Der SmartCoach ist Teil einer Studie, die die Wirksamkeit des SmartCoach überprüfen soll. Dafür werden die teilnehmenden Schulklassen per Zufall in eine von zwei Gruppen zugeteilt

Gruppe 1

Die Teilnehmenden erhalten nach einer Eingangs­befragung ein Feedback und nehmen am SmartCoach teil.

 

Gruppe 2

Die Teilnehmenden erhalten nach einer Eingangs­befragung weder ein Feedback, noch nehmen sie am Smartcoach teil.


Alle Teilnehmenden nehmen an den Nachbefragungen nach 6 und 18 Monaten teil und erhalten eine Aufwandsentschädigung von 20 Franken. Durch diese Vorgehensweise kann herausgefunden werden, wie gut der SmartCoach Jugendliche in der Stärkung der Lebenskompetenzen unterstützt.


Was erwartet die Teilnehmenden?



Eingangsbefragung

Der SmartCoach orientiert sich an den individuellen Antworten aus der Eingangsbefragung. So kann der SmartCoach auf Themen eingehen, die für die Jugendlichen wichtig sind.




SmartCoach

Die Teilnehmenden werden mittels eines SMS Coachings sechs Monate darin unterstützt, im Umgang mit Stress, im Umgang mit Anderen und im Umgang mit ihrer Gesundheit sicherer zu werden.




Attraktive Preise und Belohnung

Eine aktive Beteiligung am SmartCoach erhöht die Chancen auf den Gewinn von attraktiven Preisen, die unter allen Teilnehmenden verlost werden.


Einführungsvideo



Wer ist für die Durchführung verantwortlich?

Das Schweizer Institut für Sucht- und Gesundheitsforschung (ISGF) führt den SmartCoach mit den Stellen für Suchtprävention im Kanton Zürich durch. Schulklassen können im Zeitraum von Februar 2019 bis Juli 2020 am SmartCoach teilnehmen.



Warum ist die Teilnahme an dieser Studie wichtig?

Jugendliche klagen immer häufiger, an Stress zu leiden und mit Alltagssituationen überfordert zu sein. Stress und Herausforderungen bedeuten für jeden Jugendlichen aber etwas anderes und können sich von Tag zu Tag verändern. Wirksame Interventionen müssen diese Unterschiede berücksichtigen und die Jugendlichen dort abholen, wo sie stehen. Mit dem SmartCoach möchten die beteiligten Stellen herausfinden, ob Jugendliche in ihrer Lebenssituation unterstützt werden können.